Promote Your Page Too
Information about Greenville, SC
Driving in South Carolina
Refer to the South Carolina Driver's Manual for an index of traffic signs and rules of the road.
The speed limit varies between 55 to 65 mph on interstate highways in South Carolina. The maximum speed limit on rural highways is 55 mph and the maximum speed in urban areas is usually 30 mph. Be very careful to keep within the speed limit around school zones (25 miles per hour).
Also, it is illegal to pass a stopped school bus (even if you are going in the opposite direction).
Seatbelts are required for the driver and all passengers in the car. South Carolina law requires that children from birth to 1 year old, or who weigh less than 20 pounds, must be secured in a rear-facing child safety seat.
Children 1 through 5 years old weighing 20 to 40 pounds must be restrained in a forward-facing child seat. Children 1 through 5 years old weighing 40 to 80 pounds must be secured in a belt-positioning booster seat.
Children under the age of 6 are not required to be in booster seats if they weigh more than 80 pounds or if they can sit with their backs against the car's seat and bend their legs over the seat edge without slouching. Children under 6 may not sit in the front passenger seat unless the vehicle has no rear passenger seats or if all other rear passenger seats are occupied by children less than 6 years old.
If you have an accident, obtain the name, address, driver's license number, license plate number, and insurance information of the other driver(s) involved and wait for the police to arrive.
Keep a copy of the accident report for insurance purposes.
2006-2014 Flavia Westerwelle All Rights Reserved / Copyright